2020 Awards

2020 Harold Wilkinson Distinguished Alumni Awards 

Sigma Zeta National Science & Mathematics Honor Society recognize distinguished alumni who have made significant contributions to the fields of science, mathematics, or computer science.  Awardees are nominated by local campus chapters. The award was named for Harold Wilkinson who significantly shaped the society through his leadership as the first Executive Director of Sigma Zeta. 

Sigma Zeta recognizes Dr. Ellen L. Aho, Gamma Gamma Chapter, as 2020 recipient of the Harold Wilkinson Distinguished Alumni Award. 

Dr. Ellen Aho is a professor in the Biology Department at Concordia College where she also completed her undergad and now teaches Microbiology and Genetics. She joined the Concordia faculty in 1990 after completing her Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina. As one of the Gamma Gamma chapter's first members she helped to cultivate a culture of research and academic excellence through her mentorship of numerous students. She is active in the following professional societies: American Society for Microbiology and Council on Undergraduate Research (Biology Council) and has received the following teaching awards: Flaat Distinguished Teaching Award and Omicron Delta Kappa Faculty Representative. Dr. Aho’s research is on bacteria in the genus Neisseria. This includes Neisseria meningitidis which causes the disease meningitis, along with other species that are members of the human microbiome and normally colonize the mouth and upper airway. The research Dr. Aho does on-campus with students seeks to understand the differences between pathogenic and nonpathogenic Neisseria species, how the genus has evolved, and how Neisseria species interact with one another. Her most recent project involves examining nonpathogenic Neisseria for the ability to produce antibiotic agents active against drug-resistant pathogens. Her research has been published in numerous scientific papers and has involved collaborations not only in the United States, but also internationally with sabbatical visits to the University of Bristol and Oxford University (UK).


2020 Founders' Cup Award for Most Active Chapter


Gamma Eta Chapter
Marian University
2020 Founders' Cup Award


2020 Chapter Honor Awards


Korbyn Dahlquist
Beta Iota Chapter
Bethel University


Mollie Francis
Gamma Gamma Chapter
Concordia College